Wish on a Shooting Star/Giants: A Poem

Vexation is easy to find within
Calling yourself short-tempered as if it were romantic,
Choosing to avoid people
And talking to them by identifying as so specific.

This is where we overdo things
Rejecting the basics of socialization
Speaking for myself here strictly
I know I regret my decisions.

I walk away from a public vehicle
Just because they saw me miss the handle
And I’ll probably do the same with a deathbed
When I’ll pretend to be busy counting bundles.

Death has called many a man
Who once cuddled me when I was a baby
And their smiles are now impregnable
In my head, and I wish now, only now to save it.

They told me I was to be a man
They made me laugh and taught me bonds
Now, I can’t be grateful enough for the protection they showered me with
Can’t reach them ever by crying ponds.

Farther the star, brighter it seems
Only for the night it shoots down
Giants have died, you were one too
I’ll see you again on the other side of the ground.

✍ Ithmam Hami, 15th November, 2022, 1.20 am

Published by Ithmam Hami

Escapist | Anti-liberal | Straight Edge | Genetic Non-freak | Lucid Dreamer

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started